It is often a case that you adjust a setting only one time, and want to be done with it. It is often another case that you want to leave some settings for the users, but remove other. With locking & unlocking the template settings - you get to decide which setting stay and which bid farewell. Let's dig in.
In a Loopify editor there's a module library (a list of minor previews of the modules) and a list of placed modules (the inserted modules via drag & drop). Depending on the template, if you click a module in the module library - settings will appear. These settings can now be locked and unlocked. But what does it mean?
You've clicked a module in the module library. You clicked the padlock icon 🔒 right next to a setting and it turns red. The setting is now locked and it means that the setting can only be adjusted in the template editor from the module library. This setting can no longer be adjusted by clicking the placed module settings. An important reminder here is that a user role in Loopify could no longer adjust a locked setting, because they only have access to campaign editors. So, if for example you are using some exclusive brand colors in your template, locking them up will make them no longer adjustable and no one can fiddle with them.
Same as locked, but the opposite (wow, who would have thought?). An unlocked setting (padlock icon = green) is simply a setting that can be adjusted when the placed module settings are clicked, even by by the user roles in the campaign editor. An example: you may have locked your exclusive brand color setting because you don't want that changed, but you can unlock an alignment setting. You want people working on your campaign to adjust the alignment of your content, and that's why you leave that setting unlocked for them.
Example with two color settings, both in template and campaign editor:
Tip: an unlocked setting changed from a placed module always has priority. If you change the text color from a placed module to yellow but the setting of the same module says pink in the module library - the text will be yellow because placed module settings > module library settings.
This also means that if you're changing a setting in the module library and don't see an instant change in the placed modules, it must mean that the setting is unlocked and the placed module setting is taking advantage.
Locking & unlocking also works for global document settings.
Now start planning which settings you want available and which not! You are the key.
Please sign in to leave a comment.