If you decide to deactivate a live flow to do some changes to it and activate it again, then there are some things to know about. This is also the case if you re-activate your already-finished campaign.
Deactivating a Flow will immediately cancel most actions. Re-activating a flow will start the whole campaign from scratch, so in this article, we'll cover some important things that will or will not happen on flow re-activation (Go live → Deactivate → Go live).
The most important blocks to have in mind are:
- Contacts block - if the Flow is re-activated, the communication will be sent all over again to the contacts in this block. Make sure you are not sending the same communication to the same contacts. Consider freezing the Flow instead, if changes are needed.
- File import - if the 'Import file on Flow activation/repeat' toggle is on, then on flow re-activation the communication will be sent all over again.
Tip: If you click the Deactivate button to stop a Flow, a confirmation-popup will additionally remind you of these important consequences.
Some good stuff to know about is with the:
- API block - if you re-activate the flow you'll have to trigger the block again to send communication.
- Wait block - if there are contacts still waiting and you deactivate the flow, the waiting queue for these contacts will be canceled. They will not continue to the next block on re-activation.
- Split block - if you're testing sent communication based on open or click rate and you deactivate the Flow, the test will be stopped and canceled.
When you need to do some quick changes, we recommend using the Freeze option that is placed above the deactivation button. Freezing a flow will not restart the whole campaign, so it is safer.
If you are starting to get curious about all our flow states, you'll find the different flow states article very beneficial!